(CODESYS) Issue on mapping DI/DO bits to exist global boolean variables for each

Topics about the Software of Revolution Pi
Post Reply
torolox
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 07:09

(CODESYS) Issue on mapping DI/DO bits to exist global boolean variables for each

Post by torolox »

Hello,

I'm using RevPi Connect S & RevPi DIO module with CODESYS.
I mapped DI_CH1-14 and DO_CH1-14 to existing global boolean valiables as following picture.
画像.png
However, the DIO module didn't worked as I expected.
(I mean that forcing the global DO variables to TRUE didn't trigger any output, and input changes didn't update the DI variables.)

Actually, mapping to the WORD typed existing variables as below worked well.
画像 (1).png
Is this a specificated behavior?

My environment:
RevPi Bullseye 32-bit (09/2023)
CODESYS 3.5.20.0
CODESYS Control for Raspberry Pi 4.10.0.0
Revolution Pi Library for CODESYS V1.4.1.0

Best regards,
User avatar
dirk
KUNBUS
Posts: 2047
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 13:19

Re: (CODESYS) Issue on mapping DI/DO bits to exist global boolean variables for each

Post by dirk »

Hello and welcome to the Revolution Pi community! Thank you for your detailed description of the problem as well as the technical data and the considerations you have made so far, that's great. Since the release, see here it became necessary to change the access to variables: viewtopic.php?p=15795&hilit=codesys+rel ... tes#p15795

Do you already know the latest development?
Revolution Pi Library for CODESYS V1.4.1.99 - Beta version without support! We will release this library in the coming weeks and would be happy if you used this phase now and let us know if there are still things that are open. In this video tutorial we explain how to get it up and running:
torolox
Posts: 6
Joined: 24 Aug 2022, 07:09

Re: (CODESYS) Issue on mapping DI/DO bits to exist global boolean variables for each

Post by torolox »

Hello dirk, thank you for your repry.

I see it has been specified behavior for now.
Is it going to be improved in future release?
I think bit access is still available on some other CODESYS native IO devices i.e. Modbus TCP Slave.
User avatar
dirk
KUNBUS
Posts: 2047
Joined: 15 Dec 2016, 13:19

Re: (CODESYS) Issue on mapping DI/DO bits to exist global boolean variables for each

Post by dirk »

Hello, torolox so this change to implement the mapping without bool variables was necessary due to changes made by CODESYS. You can find more background information in the release notes of version 1.3.0. Download Area - Industrial Raspberry Pi (revolutionpi.com)
Using WORD has another advantage - one access is sufficient for all affected bits of the variable. So there is a performance gain here.
Post Reply