Logi.Cad 3

Topics about the Software of Revolution Pi
rafa
Answers: 0

Logi.Cad 3

Post by rafa »

Hello,
I'm a classic plc programmer and now I'm testing RevPi & Logi.Cals 3.
how I can store some values in the memory area, that don't lose it these values after cold start or reboot the device, like a memory table of standard plc?

Thanks.
Rafa.
Mathias

Re: Logi.Cad 3

Post by Mathias »

Hi Rafa,

I am sorry, but permanent variables, that keep their values even if you turn the system off and on again, are not supported at the moment.

We plan a real hw solution for that, but I can't tell when it will be available.

One solution would be to write the data a file from time to time. But there you will have to handle the problem, that data written to a file shortly before the system is turned off will usually get lost. You should have older versions of the file as fallback.

Mathias
rafa

Post by rafa »

Thanks for your comments.
Can I save the values with Logi.cad 3 to a mySql database or similar using for example html-json and retrieve them?

Rafa.
dirk
KUNBUS
Answers: 4

Post by dirk »

Hi Rafa,
maybe you should give https://www.sqlite.org/ a try. It supports atomic operations and is more lightweight compared to a mysql server.
rafa

Post by rafa »

Thanks Dirk.
SQLite works fine in a c-block and now I can insert data into a database.
Exists a library for accessing DIOs or variables defined in LogiCad 3 through php to display them on a web page?

Rafa.
volker
Answers: 1

Post by volker »

interesting discussion...
Please note that if you use the RevPi Core eMMC for a data base: eMMC as any flash device has a limited number of erase/write cycles and thus is not intended for continuous high rate data logging! You should push data up into the cloud or to a server to permanently store and retrieve it. Or use a traditional hard disk drive via USB if you need to have this local.
Unser RevPi Motto: Don't just claim it - make it!
dirk
KUNBUS
Answers: 4

Post by dirk »